Tony Award winners 2023: Updates the list

Follow the latest live updates and photos Tony Awards.

The 76th Tony Awards take place tonight at the United Palace in Manhattan’s Washington Heights neighborhood. The awards ceremony, which honors plays and musicals that opened on Broadway between April 29, 2022 and April 27, 2023, airs on CBS and is streaming on Paramount+. A special segment, hosted by Julianne Hough and Skylar Austin, was streamed Pluto TV Before the main ceremony, several awards were announced, including Lifetime Achievement recognition and Best Original Score.

This year’s awards ceremony, which was nearly halted amid the Writers Guild of America strike, will be offered without a script in a deal reached with the union. (When a screenwriters’ strike threatened the broadcast last month, playwrights banded together to save the broadcast.) As a result, the show will go on, but the festival will drop the customized opening number. Writers were also encouraged to pre-record their acceptance speeches.

Ariana DeBose, who will host the festival for the second year in a row, opened the night with an explanation of the strike and called for her and every host to go off-script for the evening. “To anyone who thought last year was a bit uneventful, I say, ‘Darlings, buckle up,'” he said.

“New York, New York” led to the broadcast; In addition to “Funny Girl” and “in musical numbers, audiences can expect performances of other Tony-nominated musicals including “& Juliet,” “Camelot,” “Kimberly Akimbo,” “Shucked” and “Some Like It Hot. A Beautiful Noise.”

Below is the updated list of winners.

Beowulf Borritt, “New York, New York”

See also  Today's Stock Futures: Live Updates

Brigitte Riefenstwell, “Leopoldstadt”

Greg Barnes, “Some Like It Hot”

Caroline Downing, “Life of Pi”

Nevin Steinberg, “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street”

Tim Ludkin, “Life of Pi”

Natasha Katz, “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street”

Joel Gray and John Kander

Jerry Mitchell

Pasadena Playhouse

Jason Zembuch Young

Lisa Dawn Cave, Victoria Bailey and Robert Fried

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *