Newfoundland & Labrador students join Commander Chris Hadfield live from space in coast-to-coast simultaneous concert for Music Monday 2013

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Music Makes Us

What:

Music Monday 2013 – Canada’s 9th annual celebration of music

In his final live link to earth before returning home, International Space Station Commander Chris Hadfield is joining  hundreds of thousands of students from communities across Canada to ‘Fill the Skies with Music’ on Monday May 6 to raise awareness about the importance of music education in Canadian schools and in our lives. 

This year’s official Music Monday song, I.S.S. (Is Somebody Singing), was co-written by Canadian Space Agency Astronaut

Chris Hadfield and Ed Robertson of The Barenaked Ladies and co-commissioned by CBCMusic  and the Coalition for Music Education.

Journalists who cannot be on-site at The Ontario Science Centre will be able to watch the event live via webcast on the CSA website starting at 1:30 p.m. in Newfoundland.

English webcast:  http://asc-csa.gc.ca/webcast   French webcast:  http://asc-csa.gc.ca/webdiffusion

 The Coalition for Music Education created Music Monday to celebrate the galvanizing power of music and demonstrate how that power is rooted in school music programs.

In St. John’s, Kindergarten to grade 6 students at St. Bonaventure’s College will gather to sing the Music Monday song I.S.S. (Is Somebody Singing)

At St. Kevin’s Junior High, students will dress like a rock star and  fill the halls with music celebrating with an afternoon concert.

 

Where:

St. Bonaventure's College

2A Bonaventure Avenue, St. John’s Newfoundland

And

St. Kevin's Junior High School

440 Main Road Goulds, NFLD

 

Who:

Media interviews available with:

Brenda Gatherall  brendagatherall@hotmail.com  709- 726-0024 (St. Bonaventure College)

Sarah Comerford  sarahcomerford@esdnl.ca    709-753-9215 (St. Kevin’s Junior High School)

Holly Nimmons – Executive Director, The Coalition for Music Education (via telephone)

Jeremy Hansen – Astronaut, The Canadian Space Agency (via telephone)

Students and teachers in your community

 …more

 

When:

Monday, May 6, 2013

The webcast starts at 1:30 p.m. and the official Music Monday song will be sung at 2:00 p.m. in Newfoundland. 

Music Monday events begin at 9:00 a.m. Pacific, 10:00 a.m. Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Central, 12:00 p.m. Eastern, 1:00 p.m. Atlantic and 1:30 p.m. in Newfoundland and Labrador.

 

Why:

The schools and community groups participating in Music Monday are among the fortunate – most of them have music programs. Many young students are not so fortunate as music classes, resources and specialist teachers have faced serious cuts or elimination throughout the country.

The Coalition for Music Education is inviting everyone to join the movement, be counted and let their voice be heard.  With the strength of many voices joining together, we can make a difference and keep music education alive in our communities.

To find the Music Monday celebration in your community please visit

http://www.musicmonday.ca/music-monday-map/  where you can use an interactive map to get specifics on a wide variety of events in your region.

Join us on Facebook, Twitter and sign up for our newsletter for more details.

View the recording of I.S.S. (Is Somebody Singing) at cbcmusic.ca

 

To arrange interviews or for more information, please contact:

Sue Lennon  sue@trilliumpr.com   416-322-3030  Ext 226

or  Michele Lennon  Michele@trilliumpr.com  416-322-3030 Ext 228

 

Organizations: Bonaventure College, Canadian Space Agency, Coalition for Music Education International Space Station The Barenaked Ladies The Ontario Science Centre

Geographic location: Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, Bonaventure 2A Bonaventure Avenue Goulds

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments